Map of Bhutan in Asia

The Kingdom of Bhutan lies in the region of the Eastern Himalayas in Asia, sandwiched between the most populated countries of the world, India and China. It has a land area of 38,394 km² and a total population of 766,224 as of November 2019 according to the Worldometers elaboration of the latest UN data. 

It is an independent country and has never been colonised in its history of existence, keeping the country’s culture and traditions intact and hidden from the outside world. Bhutan is a very spiritual country with no discriminations against any kind/form of religion. Buddhism is the major religion of the country with almost 75% of the population following it, followed by Hinduism with 23 % and the rest is comprised of religions such as Christianity, Islam, Bonism and various indigenous faiths. The landscape of Bhutan ranges from lush subtropical plains (2000 metres) in the south to the sup-alpine Himalayan mountains in the north, where there are mountain peaks that measure more than 7,000 metres (23,000 feet). 

Bhutan has four distinct seasons in a year that can be attributed to the North Indian Monsoons and the differences in the altitude of the country. The seasons can be categorised as follows:

i. Spring: March – May

ii. Summer:  May – July

iii. Autumn: August – November

iv. Winter: December – February

The temperatures in Bhutan vary from 15 – 30 Degree Celsius (59 – 86 Fahrenheit).